Every learner at Outschool now has a dedicated space where they can view their schedule and participate in class. They can also use their learner space to keep track of assigned coursework and upcoming classes, as well as communicate with their teachers and contribute to class discussion.
- Learners cannot sign up for or purchase classes once they switch to their learner space.
- Learners can message teachers privately in their learner space, and you’ll be notified of the conversation as their parent / guardian.
- This optional feature enables learners to use Outschool more independently. Families can continue to access classes as before, such as for younger learners.
To begin, use the switcher in the upper right corner (drop down from your avatar) to switch to the learner space for each learner in your account.
When entering their learner space, your learner sees their personal collection of upcoming classes.
They can also see their past classes or view their class calendar from here.
When your learner enters an upcoming class from their learner space, they’ll see the classroom right away, where they can review current assignments and posts from the teacher, join the live meeting when it’s time for class, and message directly with their teacher on the Teacher tab.
If selecting a Past Class from the learner space, your learner can still access the classroom to see previous posts and message the teacher, but they’ll no longer have access to the Join Live Meeting button.
Entering the classroom as Learner
From the parent view, when you click on the classroom tab, you’ll see the option to enter the classroom as your learner, depending on which and how many learners you’ve enrolled.
If you’ve enrolled more than one learner in a class, you’ll see a pop-up window to select which learner is entering class.
If you only have one learner in class, you’ll see their name appear upon entering the classroom, where the Start Live Meeting button formerly appeared.
Optional Password Protection
Please keep in mind that learners cannot purchase new classes or view parent-teacher messages while in their space. You have the option to require the account password when switching from the learner space to your space.
When you first use learner spaces, you’ll have the option to enable this password requirement.
If you only log into Outschool with your Facebook account, you’ll need to first set an account password in your account settings, using the Change your password button.
Once you’ve added your account password, you can check the box under Learner Preferences next to Parent password prompt to require your account password when switching back to your parent space.
If you don’t use Facebook to log in to Outschool, you can still set your password protection here at any time in your account settings.
Remember to click outside of the field anywhere on the page to save your settings. When transitioning back to the parent view, you may see the logged out Outschool.com page briefly before returning to your parent home page.
If this setting is on, you’ll be prompted to enter your account password when switching out of learner space into your parent space.