This guide is designed for learners - for the version for adults, see Learner Safety and Privacy: For Parents.

We are so excited that you’ve joined our community! We take your privacy seriously, and want you to understand what information we collect from you and your parent, family member, or other adult who created your account (whom we will call the “trusted adult”), why we collect it, and what we do with it.

What is privacy and why is it important

If you have ever had a diary or wanted time alone, you probably already know something about privacy. Privacy is the idea that some of your information is kept secret from people you don’t want to know it. When we use the word privacy, we are talking about how we use and share information about you when you take our classes. We also are talking about how we keep information about you secret from other people.

What information we collect from your trusted adults

When your trusted adult creates an Outschool account, they give us information about you, like your name and your age. They may also share other information about you. Your trusted adult(s) can also email any questions or information about you to your teacher or someone who might be your teacher.

What information we collect from you

Once you sign up for your Outschool class, you can go into your own Learner Space and connect with other learners in your class, as well as your teacher. When you are in your Learner Space, you can make and share things like private messages, posts, comments, and other things. During class, the things you do and say are shown live and recorded on video – just by being in class. We also get data about how you use Outschool, like what new classes you check out or words you use when you search for new classes.

How we use your information

We use the information you and your trusted adults give us to help keep Outschool safe, and to make Outschool better for you and everyone else. For example, we record your classes so that we can make sure class went smoothly; we also want you to be able to watch the recording after class if you missed class or just want to watch again. We look at what classes you’ve taken and things you search for so we can tell you about other classes we think you’d like.

What information we share and with whom

Because we care about your privacy, we take steps to protect the information you share when you’re in class. What that means is that only your classmates and their trusted adults, and teachers who are also in your class, get to see your posts, videos, and attachments. But you should always be careful about what you share in class or online. Don’t share stuff you should keep private about yourself, like your street address or email address. And don’t share private stuff about other people like your friends or your family. If you’re not sure, ask your trusted adult.

We may share your information if your trusted adults say it’s okay, or if we need to because of the law.

Your trusted adults may get to see what classes you like and information you share on Outschool. For example, trusted adults can see private messages between you and your teacher.

Did this answer your question?