In this article, we will explain how you can cancel a section and how Outschool automatically cancels sections.
How to cancel your section
We understand that sometimes situations arise that make it impossible to teach a scheduled section with enrolled students. While Outschool will auto-cancel sections with no enrollments, teachers are responsible for cancelling any sections with students. If at all possible, please do so at least 24 hours before a class is set to start.
- Refund and withdraw all enrolled students from the section’s Learners page. If you click the "change enrollment" button next to the student’s name, this window will appear.
Click the “Withdraw student and refund” button. Another window will pop up so that you can confirm this action and provide more context. The message that you write here will be sent to the parent, so it's best to provide a good amount of context and potential next steps.
2. Explicitly cancel the section so that future learners cannot enroll. You’ll see that option on the section’s edit page. You won’t see the cancel option until you have completed the steps above.
Please note that setting a section to “private” will not cancel it.
Outschool automatically cancels sections with no enrollments 24 hours before the section start time.
For the following cases, Outschool will not cancel sections:
- Ongoing class sections
- Sections created less than 3 days ago
- Sections that teachers un-cancel will not be re-canceled
If your section is auto-canceled, you will receive an email notification with a link to un-cancel the section. If the class is not published, you will not receive an email notification about the auto-canceled section.